ANNUAL MEETING 24 May 2023

LOCAL GOVERNMENT & HOUSING ACT 1989 – PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION

ARRANGEMENTS - REGULATORY & OTHER COMMITTEES 2023/2024

- a) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (i) the following Regulatory and other Committees of the Council be constituted for the ensuing year:
 - Audit and Standards Committee
 - Human Resources Committee
 - Licensing and General Purposes Committee
 - Overview and Scrutiny Committee
 - Planning Committee
- b) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) the terms of reference for the Committees, be as set out within Articles 6, 8 and 9 and "Part 3 Responsibility for Functions" of the Constitution.
- c) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) and (iii) the membership of Political Groups and the allocation of seats to serve on each Committee be as follows:

Membership

CONSERVATIVE (10) C

Barnes, J	Grohne
Barnes, M L	Hacking
Biggs	Kirby-Green
Ganly	Maynard
Gordon	Osborne

ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENTS (8) RAol

Byrne	Jeeawon
Coupar	Oliver
Drayson	Stanger
Hayward	Timpe

LABOUR (8) LAB

Bayliss	Delany
Chowdhury	Legg
Coleman	McCourt
Creaser	McGurk

LIBERAL DEMOCRAT (7) LD

Mrs Cook	Pearce
Field	Prochak, MBE
Killeen, MBE	Thomas
Mier	

GREEN (3) G

Burton	
Gray	
Rathbone Ariel	

NON-GROUP INDEPENDENT MEMBERS (2)

Clark	
Winter	

d) The allocation of Committee Seats is therefore as follows, in accordance with the political balance of the Council:

Allocation of Seats

Committees	<u>C</u>	RAol	<u>LAB</u>	<u>LD</u>	Green	<u>Ind</u> <u>Member</u>
Audit and Standards (8)	2	2	1	2	1	0
Human Resources (7)	2	2	2	1	0	0
Licensing & General Purposes (12)	3(2)*	3	3	2	1	1*
OSC (12)	4	2(1)*	3	2	1	1*
Planning (14)	4	3	3	3	1	0
TOTALS	15 (14)	12(11)	12	10	4	2

- e) The Independent Member for Pebsham and St Michaels Ward, Councillor Clark is unable to form a Political Group for the purposes of the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. Councillor Clark has expressed an interest in having a seat on the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The Rother Association of Independents (RAoI) have agreed that Councillor Clark can have a RAoI seat on this Committee.
- f) The Independent Member for St Marks Ward, Councillor Winter is unable to form a Political Group for the purposes of the proportional representation requirements of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. Councillor Winter has expressed an interest in having a seat on the Licensing and General Purposes Committee; it is likely that the Conservative Group will allocate this seat to Councillor Winter.
- g) As the above proposals do not accord with strict political balance requirements a nem con vote of the Council will be required (i.e. no Member voting against).

Substitutes

h) In accordance with the Council's Substitute Procedure, one named Substitute is also permitted from each Political Group on the Licensing and General Purposes Committee, the Overview and Scrutiny Committee and the Planning Committee. Substitutes appointed to the Licensing and General Purposes Committee and the Planning Committee and must have undertaken the prerequisite mandatory training to take an active part in the meetings, when acting as Substitute.

Audit and Standards Committee - 8 Members

(2xC, 2xRAoI, 1xLAB, 2xLD, 1xG)

<u>C</u>	RAol	LAB	<u>LD</u>	Green
Barnes, J	Drayson	McGurk	Pearce	Burton
Biggs	Hayward		Thomas	

Human Resources Committee - 7 Members

(2xC, 2xRAoI, 2xLAB, 1xLD)

<u>C</u>	RAol	LAB	<u>LD</u>
Kirby-Green	Jeeawon	Coleman	Prochak
Hacking	Oliver	Legg	

Licensing & General Purposes Committee – 12 Members

(3xC, 3xRAoI, 3xLAB, 2xLD, 1xG)

<u>C</u>	RAol	LAB	LD	Green	Non-Group
Hacking	Coupar	Delany	Field	Rathbone Ariel	Winter
Kirby-Green	Stanger	McCourt	Thomas		
	Timpe	McGurk			
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	
TBC	Hayward	Legg	Mier	Gray	

Overview and Scrutiny Committee – 12 Members

(4xC, 3xRAoI, 3xLAB, 2xLD, 1xG)

<u>C</u>	RAol	LAB	LD	Green	Non-Group
Barnes, J	Coupar	Creaser	Cook	Burton	Clark
Mrs Barnes		Legg	Killeen		
Maynard		McGurk			
Osborne					
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	
TBC	Stanger	Chowdhury	Pearce	Gray	

Planning Committee – 14 Members

(4xC, 3xRAoI, 3xLAB, 3xLD, 1xG)

<u>C</u>	RAol	LAB	<u>LD</u>	<u>Green</u>
Mrs Barnes	Byrne	Bayliss	Killeen	Gray
Ganly	Drayson	Chowdhury	Mier	
Gordon	Stanger	Creaser	Pearce	
Grohne				
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:
Barnes, J	Timpe	Coleman	Field	Rathbone
				Ariel

Malcolm Johnston Chief Executive